this is the default folder for keeping the Backups. You can delete the older files if you are sure you don’t need them.
Also you can see your Backup Configuration from the Admin Menu:
You can choose there how many backup files EGw should keep and if your backup should include also the files or only the database tables and data. (I have not tried the backup of files yet.)
I hope this helps